AES Home page


Econometric Society Africa Region banner
26 – 28 JULY 2016

Kruger National Park, South Africa

The Econometric Society, Africa Regional Standing Committee, is pleased to announce the 2016 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society from July 26 to 28, 2016.  The meeting is hosted by the Department of Economics, University of Pretoria, and the venue is the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate in Mpumalanga, South Africa.

The Presidential Address will be given by Eddie Dekel (Northwestern University and Tel Aviv University). In addition to submitted papers there will be two invited lectures. The invited speakers are:
Richard Blundell (University College London and Institute for Fiscal Studies, London); and
Stephen Turnovsky  (University of Washington and Victoria University of Wellington, NZ).
Submissions will be open from February 1, 2016. The deadline for submissions is March 13, 2016. We invite papers on any applied or theoretical topic within economics or econometrics. Papers can be submitted electronically via Conference Maker through the link on the Submission page. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at Each person may submit only one paper and present only one paper. However, each person is allowed to be the co-author of several papers submitted to the conference.

The Program Chairs are Victor Murinde (University of Birmingham) and Steve Koch (University of Pretoria). The Co-chairs of the Local Organising Committee are Reneé van Eyden (University of Pretoria) and Steve Koch (University of Pretoria). 

For more details regarding the logistics of the conference click here.

For enquiries, contact the local organisers here.

The Organisers gratefully acknowledge financial support from:

University of Pretoria logo
The Econometric Society logo
African Economic Research Consortium logo
International Association for APplied Econometrics
National Treasury
Universtity of Stellenbosch logo
Quantec logo
University of Cape Town department of economics



This site is sponsored by ERSA. Copyright © 2015 -- Econometric Society Africa Region --